16 Campbell wrestlers named to SoCon Academic Honor Roll

16 Campbell wrestlers named to SoCon Academic Honor Roll

[Full SoCon Release]

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Sixteen Campbell wrestlers have been named to the 2016-17 Southern Conference Academic Honor Roll, announced by the league office Thursday.

Three of the 16 student-athletes earned the Southern Conference Commissioners Medal, boasting at least a 3.8 grade-point average.

Seven freshmen lead the list of 16 Campbell student-athletes acknowledged, followed by six sophomores, one junior and a pair of seniors.

Paul Ambrose, Charlie Andrews, Benjamin Barton, Isaac Dinette, Josh Heil, Jere Heino, Ville Heino, Zane Knight, Austin Kraisser, Nathan Kraisser, Austin McNeill, Andrew Morgan, Quentin Perez, Brandon Skinner, Collin Stewart, and John Weiss earned recognition to the Honor Roll.

Nathan Kraisser, Ville Heino, and Collin Stewart earned about the 3.8 threshold for the SoCon Commissioner's Medal, including perfect 4.0 GPAs from Kraisser and Heino.

The academic honor roll originated in 1988-89, when SoCon athletic directors established the award as a way to recognize the league's outstanding student-athletes. The academic honor roll consists of student-athletes who participated in varsity sports and posted a 3.0 grade point average or higher, were eligible the entire academic year and were members of the final squad lists.

Of the 2,100 student-athletes on the list, 468 earned the Commissioner's Medal, awarded to student-athletes who attain a GPA of 3.8 or higher throughout the year. This year's total is the most since that standard rose from 3.5 beginning in 2015-16.