Amon Terer named Big South Male Athlete of the Year

Amon Terer named Big South Male Athlete of the Year

BUIES CREEK, N.C. – Amon Terer has been named the Howard Bagwell Male Athlete of the Year, as announced by the Big South on Thursday afternoon. Marthaline Cooper, who is a thrower for the Winthrop track and field team, was named the Female Athlete of the Year.

This honor comes after winning the Big South Cross Country Runner of the Year, the Track Athlete of the Year for the indoor season, as well as the overall Runner of the Year.

Terer is the first Campbell student-athlete to receive the honor since the Camels rejoined the Big South Conference in 2011-12. The Eldoret, Kenya, native had a historic year for the Fighting Camels in 2016-17, as he earned four All-America honors across the cross country and indoor and outdoor track seasons. In addition, he captured five individual Big South titles during his senior season.

He led Campbell to a conference championship at the Big South Cross Country Championship, after placing first-overall with a course record of 24:48.16 at the Asheville Christian Academy. At the NCAA Southeast Regional Championship, Terer was named Regional Athlete of the Year after winning the individual title with a 10K school record mark of 28:48.7. He capped off his cross country career by capturing the first All-America honors in school history after placing 35th with a time of 30:21.3.

Terer became the first Camel to compete at the NCAA Indoor Championships at Texas A&M, where he competed in both the 3K and 5K. The senior standout garnered All-America honors in both after placing third in the 5K and 12th in the 3K. He set school records in both the 3K and 5K in February, running a 7:59.92 at the Camel City Invitational and a 13:42.78 at the Iowa State Classic, respectively.

The senior closed out his Campbell career with a stellar outdoor season in which he earned First Team All-America honors in the 5K at the NCAA Championships at historic Hayward Field in Eugene, Ore. He clocked in at 14:36.78 to place fifth overall amongst the nation's best distance runners. At the Big South Conference meet, Terer won the 10K title with a time of 29:41.10.

The award is voted on by the conference's Athletic Directors, Senior Woman Administrators, and Sports Information Directors. Terer earned a total of 115 points, including eight first-place votes to win the award. He finished ahead of soccer player Jo Vitle Rimstad (64 points) of Radford, while Henry Patten of UNC Asheville and D.J. Artis of Liberty, tied for third place with 45 points.


Howard Bagwell Male Athlete of the Year

2016-17............ Amon Terer, Campbell (cross country/track & field)

2015-16............ Andrew Beckwith, Coastal Carolina (baseball)

2014-15............ Quinn Backus, Coastal Carolina (football)

2013-14............ Lorenzo Taliaferro, Coastal Carolina (football)

2012-13............ Miguel Maysonet, Stony Brook (football)

2011-12............. Ashton Bennett, Coastal Carolina (soccer)

2010-11............ Sam Chelanga, Liberty (cross country/track & field)

2009-10........ Sam Chelanga, Liberty (cross country/track & field)

2008-09...... Sam Chelanga, Liberty (cross country/track & field)

2007-08...... Josh McDougal, Liberty (cross country/track & field)

2006-07....... Josh McDougal, Liberty (cross country/track & field)

2005-06....... Josh McDougal, Liberty (cross country/track & field)

2004-05....... Mike Costanzo, Coastal Carolina (baseball)

2003-04....... Joseph Ngwenya, Coastal Carolina (soccer)

2002-03....... Joseph Ngwenya, Coastal Carolina (soccer)

2001-02........ Justin Owens, Coastal Carolina (baseball)

2000-01....... Jason Colson, Winthrop (baseball)

1999-00......... Keith Butler, Liberty (baseball)