Softball earns bid to NISC Postseason Tournament

Softball earns bid to NISC Postseason Tournament

FORT COLLINS, COLO. – Campbell softball has accepted an invitation into the National Invitational Softball Championships, presented by Triple Crown Sports.

The Camels have been placed in the Lynchburg regional, hosted by conference-foe Liberty University in Lynchburg, Va., May 16-18. Teams joining Campbell at the regional include: Liberty (host), Ohio, UNCW, and Iona.

[Lynchburg regional bracket, PDF]

CU will open the regional May 16 at 1 p.m. against Iona, with the winner advancing to the 4 p.m. game against Ohio.

[Full bracket, PDF]

Campbell most recently played Iona at the USC Upstate/Furman Invitational, February 17-18. CU took both games on the weekend, 10-2 and 2-0, over the Gaels. 

In 2017, Campbell posted a 29-27 overall record and finished second in the Big South. The Camels reached the Big South semifinals as the No. 2 seed and a 13-8 mark in conference play.

This is the first postseason appearance for the Camels since their appearance in the 2009 NCAA tournament regional in Chapel Hill. 

"I am excited for this group to be able to continue playing," stated Campbell head coach Todd Bradley. "The team has played well enough all season to earn this honor."

This year's tournament features 26 teams divided up into 6 regionals. The winner of each regional will advance to the championship round, May 21-24, hosted by one of the teams that qualify for that round.

More about the NISC:

The NISC is produced by Triple Crown Sports, which also operates the Preseason and Postseason WNIT basketball tournaments, the men's and women's Cancun Challenge basketball events in

Mexico, the NCAA D-1 softball event in Mexico called the Puerto Vallarta College Challenge and the

new 64-team National Invitational Volleyball Championship.

The 15 Automatic Qualifiers are the teams with the best regular-season record in their respective conferences that are not playing in the 64-team NCAA Tournament. Six of these teams finished first in their conference for the regular season (Liberty, Iona, Illinois State, IUPUI, Ohio and Weber State). The seven National RPI selections all ranked in the top 100 nationally; at-large teams were selected off their body of work. Seventeen of the teams selected won 30 or more games this season.

"We couldn't be happier with the depth of quality programs that earned their positions in the NISC," said Dave King, tournament director and CEO of Triple Crown Sports, which is producing the event. "In talking with these teams, the sense of excitement is particularly strong for programs that haven't had many chances at postseason play. Getting in more quality games and the opportunity to build positive momentum for next year can be critical for a team's growth."

Participating schools

(School – Conference - Qualification)

Abilene Christian (Southland) – AQ

Alabama State (SWAC) – AQ

Boise State (Mountain West) – National RPI

Cal Poly (Big West) – National RPI

Campbell (Big South) – At Large

Georgia State (Sun Belt) – AQ

Illinois State (Missouri Valley) – AQ

Iona (Metro Atlantic) – AQ

IUPUI (Summit) – AQ

Kennesaw State (Atlantic Sun) – Automatic Qualifier

Lamar (Southland) – At Large

Liberty (Big South) – AQ

Michigan State (Big Ten) – AQ

Murray State (Ohio Valley) – National RPI

Nevada (Mountain West) – National RPI

Ohio (Mid-American) – AQ

Pacific (West Coast) – AQ

San Diego (West Coast) – At Large

UC Santa Barbara (Big West) – AQ

UL Monroe (Sun Belt) – At Large

UNCW (Colonial) – National RPI

UT Arlington (Sun Belt) – National RPI

UT Martin (Ohio Valley) – AQ

Utah State (Mountain West) – AQ

Weber State (Big Sky) – AQ

Western Kentucky (Conference USA) – National RPI