Men's soccer announces 2017 schedule

(Will Bratton photo)
(Will Bratton photo)

MSOC Twitter | MSOC Instagram | MSOC Facebook | 2017 Schedule

BUIES CREEK, N.C. --- Campbell men's soccer coach Dustin Fonder has announced the team's upcoming 2017 schedule set to begin in August.

The slate features nine home matches at the Eakes Athletic Complex as well as eight Big South Conference matchups.

The season will begin on Tuesday, Aug. 15 at home against Elon in an exhibition contest. The Camels will also travel to Davidson on Saturday, Aug. 19 for an exhibition match.

Campbell will officially open the 2017 campaign in Jacksonville, Fla. against a pair of former Atlantic Sun Conference foes. The Camels will face North Florida on Friday, Aug. 25 before taking on Jacksonville Sunday, Aug. 27.

CU was scheduled to face the Ospreys last season in Buies Creek but the match was washed out by Hurricane Hermine. The two sides met six times as members of the ASUN with Campbell winning four matches.

It will be the 21st matchup between the Camels and Dolphins as Campbell owns a 10-6-4 lead in the all-time series. The last meeting was in 2015 in Buies Creek as the Camels earned a thrilling 4-3 victory in double overtime.

Campbell will travel to Annapolis, Md. for a matchup at Navy on Thursday, Aug. 31. The Camels and Midshipmen's only previous matchup to date was back in 1981.

CU's home opener is set for Sunday, Sept. 3 against Central Arkansas. It will be the first meeting between the two sides.

Howard travels to Buies Creek to face the Camels on Saturday, Sept. 9. Campbell took on the Bison for the first time last season and earned a narrow 1-0 victory in overtime on the road.

The Camels will travel to face William & Mary on Saturday, Sept. 16. The Tribe defeated Campbell at home last season and have won four of the five all-time meetings.

CU will host in-state rival UNC Greensboro on Wednesday, Sept. 20 for the 24th meeting in the series. The Spartans earned a narrow 1-0 victory in the final seconds of double-overtime last season.

Campbell will open Big South play at home against defending conference champs Radford on Saturday, Sept. 23. The Highlanders took a 13-12-1 lead in the all-time series after a victory last season.

The Camels will step out of Big South play on Tuesday, Sept. 26 to travel to Old Dominion. It will be the seventh all-time meeting in the series after last season's scheduled match was canceled due to Hurricane Matthew.

Liberty travels to the Creek on Friday, Sept. 29. The Camels have a narrow 12-11-1 lead in the all-time series after the Flames earned the win last season.

A road match at High Point is scheduled for Wednesday, Oct. 4. It will be the 22nd meeting against the in-state rivals. The Panthers claimed a tight 1-0 victory in last season's final game.

The Camels will play their second-straight Big South road match on Saturday, Oct. 7 at Winthrop. Campbell defeated the Eagles 4-1 in Buies Creek last season to take an 18-5 lead in the all-time series.

Campbell will host Georgia Southern on Wednesday, Oct. 11. The Camels earned a 4-2 victory on the Eagles' home turf last season for their seventh win in eight all-time meetings.

A home date with Longwood is set for Saturday, Oct. 14. The Lancers won last season's matchup to even the all-time series up at 3-3-1.

The Camels will play their final non-conference game of the season on Tuesday, Oct. 17 at Appalachian State. The Mountaineers edged the Camels 2-1 last year to cut Campbell's lead in the all-time series to 9-7-1.

CU will head to Clinton, S.C. to face Presbyterian on Saturday, Oct. 21. The Camels dropped a 1-0 decision to the Blue Hose in the final seconds of regulation last year as PC won just its second game in the all-time series.

The Camels will play their final home match of the regular season on Wednesday, Oct. 25 against Gardner-Webb. The Runnin' Bulldogs edged the Camels 2-1 last season but CU leads the all-time series 10-3-1.

The 2017 regular season will conclude on Saturday, Oct. 28 at UNC Asheville. The Camels earned an exciting 2-1 victory over the Bulldogs in the rain last year to increase their lead in the all-time series to 15-3-1.

The 2017 Big South Championship will begin on Sunday, Nov. 5 with first round matchups between the fourth-sixth seeds on the home field of the higher seeded teams. The top two seeds will host the first round winners in the tournament semifinals on Wednesday, Nov. 8. The Big South Championship match will be played on Sunday, Nov. 12 at the home site of the highest remaining seed.